About

I have started to really tackle learning the Korean language and it’s been one heck of a ride so far.  I have been to Korea 3 times and after my last trip with the wife (who is korean) I really decided to ‘Get Serious’.

Knowing a few hundred words or so and being able to throw out some stock phrases and greetings get’s many a smile from Koreans, who see a 6′ 4″ male who recently hit the 40 year old milestone, trying to communicate to them in their native language.

But that’s not good enough….not at least for me.  I have tried learning a few languages in my  lifetime but have not been able to succeed to date.  I want to change that….and this is my account as I go down this Korean Language learning path.

If anyone stumbles across this blog you’re going to see someone in a state of confusion as I proceed to learn korean.  I DO NOT speak Korean as of yet so do not consider anything here as as anything more than one guy’s journey to learning a new language.  Heck I don’t even know how to blog so don’t be surprised if you see major issues with this site as I learn how to actually do this stuff.

As my learning log (well I’ve just been using a spreadsheet up till now) starts at about christmas time(2009)  of last year so it’s only been a mere 2 months or so since I’ve really started learning Korean and I’ve already made some major modifications how I’m going about it. 

I’ve been using the AJATT philiosphy alot in my Korean studies so I’ve been trying to stay away from English when I can, but I work full time, have a wife, house, bills….well you get the idea.  I have to use english everyday for now at least….maybe one day the wife and I could move to korea???  We’ll see but for now I’m adding a blog on top of things I still do in english to record my progress, how I learn and I hope (no that’s too weak….How I achieved Korean fluency).  But that’s a bit out still so back to where I’m at now.

Why blog now?   It seems the Japanese learning community is all the rage and they have some great stuff out there on the internet.  I would like to see the Korean language learning community get on par with them  So instead of staying totally quiet as I study Korean I’ve decided to go public and put my record out there and hopefully one day our Korean learning resources, websites, blogs, etc will rival anything other language learning communities  have out there.  With new startup’s like Hyunwoo Sun’s www.talktomeinkorean.com  2010 is starting to look very promising indeed for Korean language learner’s everywhere.

That’s it for now.

ChicagoSeoul

4 thoughts on “About

  1. 안녕하세요. 저는 필리핀 온 디야라고 합니다. 만나서 반갑습니다. Hi! I came across your blog through Shanna’s blogroll. Loving it! ^^ It’s always fun to come across a fellow Korean learner’s blog. 🙂

    • 안녕하세요! 저는 Steve 입니다(I don’t use korean spelling for my name since using the ㅂ for the v sound always makes me laugh). 처음 뵙겠습니다. 만나서 반갑습니다. Shanna’s blog…yes my favoriate blog from someone learning korean. I really admire her and she provides such good insight into korean language learning and experiences while she stays over there. Thanks for the comment and your blog looks good! I look forward to reading it this weekend. Take Care and nice meeting you!

Leave a Reply

