Glossing over Gloss

I was doing some checking of sites and ended up reading some of the articles again on koreanasitis’s blog site.  Found a bit in the reading of trying to find content and came across another reference to GLOSS – http://gloss.dliflc.edu/.  It’s the US Defense Language Institute Global Language Online Support System and they provide resources for a number of languages with reading and listening lessons based on authentic materials (articles, TV reports, radio broadcasts, etc.).  Hmmm….that sounds great!

I’ve been to this site at least a couple of times in the past.  I think the first time I saw it was because of a post over at HTLAL forum and at first glance appears to be a typical run government website.  Wasn’t very impressed with it’s layout and still am not but hey that’s the least of our problems trying to find decent learning materials out there.  I don’t know why I glossed over this website a couple of times in the past….can’t really give any reason other than maybe it was timing or the link I clicked on didn’t make an impression on me or whatever…..but in any case I took a greater look at it again after reading some of koreanasitis’s web posts this weekend.

If you go to http://gloss.dliflc.edu/ and click on the korean choice you will currently see a total of 401 items based on a proficiency level of 1-3 with some 1+, 2+ and even a 1/2+ level thrown in for good effect.

When you click on the show results you’ll get a bunch of results back such as the following:

Then you have your choices of a wide variety of items.  I don’t have enough space to keep posting screenshots here but each item has as it’s source a real life new’s article, video, tv show, weather report and then they provide a lesson on it.  The links to the actual articles worked on the few posts I started going through and the video worked on the other one I went through so that’s a good sign.

The fact that they are taking real content and breaking it down into chunks and then giving you a lesson on it with the audio/video, english translations, teacher notes is FANTASTIC…at least for a beginner as myself.

I LOVE the idea of taking real life content and then building learning around that instead of trying to teach you textbook ‘stuff’ and then when you are facing real world content you’re left clueless. 

I’ll be working through these and hopefully more will be added.  Check it out for yourself and see if you like it.

http://gloss.dliflc.edu/

Leave a Reply

