Aegibong

Starting this blog to record my korean language learning journey has been very good and when I post pictures it makes me wish I had actually put some effort into taking pictures while traveling in korea, learning more of where we’re visiting, and as I’ve said before actually noting where pictures were taken!

If I ever do get back to korea one day I hope to be one ‘fluent in korean’…..ok at least be able to communicate in korean as well as my wife speaks english.  Whenever I hear her accent or say english stuff in a foreigner way I have to stop and think how she blows me away in how far advanced she is compared to my one line ability to say things in korean and then pause and take a deep breath on how hard that was to say.

Second I want to really get into photography and take ‘picture taking’ seriously or at least take a lot more than I have on my previous 3 trips there.  During christmas and just within the last few weeks I saw on the korean news channel that I watch over the internet on http://wwitv.com/ (some of the korean channels come through pretty good) some stories on Aegibong.  During christmas there was the north saying don’t like lighting up the huge christmas tree they had there and since I was alone watching the second thing on Aegibong I couldn’t make out what it was about actually……but with the services of the wife’s oldest brother we had taken a trip there in 2009.  Right across from Aegibong is North Korea.

http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SI/SI_EN_3_1_1_1.jsp?cid=1426597

It was pretty cool going there and I understood that across the river was north korea and that’s about all I cared about at the time but reading up a bit more on Aegibong after the fact makes me all the more determined the next time I get there (which might be a very long time now that plane tickets prices are through the roof) to get more into the travel that we do in korea and have a better understanding of where we are actually visiting.

Some of my pics of the visit there (I didn’t realize after reading the english website on Aegibong the requirements needed to even go there) when we visited there a few years ago.

Aegibong1

Aegibong1

It was the first time I had seen north korea first hand.

Aegibong2

Aegibong2

Yup it was a little cloudy out but actually standing there it was no problem seeing across the river at the small north korean village there.

Aegibong3

Aegibong3

Wow seats to ….watch north korea?  Still not sure what they actually do with a room full of people sitting watching over to the north.

Aegibong4

Aegibong4

Yeah there’s a few pictures with me and the wife and brother there but since I don’t like posting pictures without permission from my family members I erased my korean brother’s face here.  No disrespect intended at all but rather all the respect in the world for my wonderful korean family who maybe one day I can post pictures of with their blessing.

Aegibong5

Aegibong5

Well that’s it for now.  Back to a talktomeinkorean lesson……………………

Leave a Reply

