Topik

One of the things I thought about doing was actually taking a Topik test.  I’ve known about it and I think once looked at a sample exam but that’s about it. I never felt any need since my goal is to speak korean and not worry about if I’m at a certified level or anything but with 2012 not coming up to any real progress that I had hoped for I’m shaking things up this year.  So one thing will be taking some Topik tests this year.

Based off some reader’s comments over at http://www.hangukdrama.com/ I went and (ok I had the wife do it) ordered ‘Korean Grammar in Use – Beginner’ book.  It say’s it covers all grammar points in level 1 and 2 of the topik exams so I just got it this weekend and I’m starting to look it over.

kgiu
This should be interesting to get an assessment of where I stand.  At the very least I hope to use the Topik to keep me focused on my language learning goals this year.  Looks like it will be fun too.  Looking at 2012 info on the test it looks like there will be 2 different testing facilities I could go to here in the mid-west so I’ll need to look over this and make sure I decide if I will try to take both level 1 and 2 or just level 1 this first time out.  I also have to make sure I make this decision and get my application fee’s paid before deadline in early february.

On another note I continue watching ‘Arang and the Magistrate (아랑사또전)’.  I’m almost done.  Interesting but not so much I’m watching them all weekend.  But the wife I think will be glad when I finish it and move on to another korean series.  She’s getting sick of me saying ‘사또 입니다’ to her but it’s one word I probably won’t ever forget now – wonder how often I will be using 사또 in everyday life….probably not much huh?

2 thoughts on “Topik

  1. ㅋㅋㅋㅋ 사또! 😀 I’ll recommend 청담동 앨리스 but it’s more of a girl drama (not really about romance). If you have time, try it out!

    As for TOPIK, the beginner paper covers both level 1 and 2. Meaning you take the paper and if you pass AND score better, you get a level 2, if not, level 1. ^^

    • lol…I will check out 청담동 앨리스 series. I see it’s available on dramafever.com. Also thanks for the topik info. That’s good to know. I never really looked into it but am reading your’s and other’s info on the exam. Will sign up in another week I belive. Thanks hangukdrama!!!

Leave a Reply

