Skype Video – Recording

I’ve been for over a month using skype alot to communicate with korean teachers or language group’s.

One teacher gave me a recommendation to use – http://voipcallrecording.com/ to record the audio piece.  It’s free and looking at the software it’s updated alot.  That’a good thing.  I have had it installed for a week or two but right away I noticed it would be nice to have the video too.  It worked just fine don’t get me wrong and if you want the audio section of something like a skype session it did the job just fine.  I set my default folder to a more obvious location and to auto-record but when a white board or visuals are involved too having the video piece would be nice.

I tried a few ‘free’ ones and one from http://www.dvdvideosoft.com/products/dvd/Free-Video-Call-Recorder-for-Skype.htm looked the most promising.  Got it all setup and did not do a ‘test’ before the first session last week in trying it.  It just error’d out when the call was established and wouldn’t even run.  Looking at their support section of the site I see some other’s having the same problem and ultimately the support person told the person to open a ticket with them.

Googling around for other’s didn’t throw awhole lot of choices out there.  Some but not alot like I thought.  I just ended up spending three hours or so going over the one’s I found and testing them and ended up with http://www.evaer.com/ skype video recorder.  It’s last been updated in Nov of 2016, say’s it’s supported from XP to windows 10 and even though it records only 5 minutes in the trial phase it did just fine.  So I bought the standard license through paypal for 19 bucks.  Playing with some settings and having the wife do video calls to me it did just what I wanted.  All setup for the coming week.  We’ll see how big the video call files get after an hour or so but in testing it seemed to be a good piece of software.

Leave a Reply

